



History

The North Channel Race was conceived after some good clean fun at the Bayview Yacht Club bar when Joe Matte and Irv Jorgenson, the owners of Cyrene (C-50), challenged Jack Briner, the owner of Caprice (C-64), to a match race from Bayview, up the North Channel, around Russell Island Buoy and back to finish in front of Bayview. An invitation to the other C boats was sent and two other boats participated, Ed Flintermann's Deodar (C-57) and Morrill Dunn's Cayuse II (C-59). The four competitors anchored at the starting line, off the Peche Island Range Front Light, with sails furled and crews waiting below deck. Shortly after midnight the morning of Saturday, June 15, 1940, the sound and flash of the starting cannon released the competitors to start the first North Channel Race.

Although the North Channel Race was the property of and managed by the C-Class Association, eligible boats for the second race included L Boats, as well as C Boats. They raced without time allowance, as a fleet for prize flags in each class and also for the first boat to finish overall. In 1947, the Morrill Dunn Trophy was created and awarded to the first-to-finish in the starting fleet. By 1947, there were four classes of boats racing.

By 1951, the race had grown and the C-Class Association realized that the Association was no longer equal to the task of sponsoring and managing the race. The Deed of Gift of the North Channel Race was offered to and accepted by Bayview Yacht Club. The intent of the race has been preserved. It remains primarily a contest of one-design daysailing boats of 30 feet or less. The Race Committee has opened the race to PHRF rated boats of 30 feet or less, but they are not eligible for the Morrill Dunn or Richard C. Hill Trophies.

Notice Of Race

82nd Annual North Channel Race Commodore Dean Balcirak Memorial Saturday, October 1, 2022 53.5 Nautical Miles

1. RULES-

- 1.1 The North Channel Race shall be governed by the "rules" as defined in the current Racing Rules of Sailing 2021–2024 except as may be changed by the Sailing Instructions.
- 1.2 The only US Sailing prescriptions that apply are 61.4 and 76.1.

2. ENTRY –

- 2.1 This regatta is open to keelboats in the classes that are owned by clubs or members of clubs holding current membership in the Detroit Regional Yacht Racing Association (DRYA) and to others on invitation of the Bayview Yacht Club Race Chairman. The race is not recommended for boats over 30 feet LOA.
- **2.2** Boats shall register on www.yachtscoring.com to be scored in the race. No entries will be accepted on the day of the race.
- **3. SCHEDULE** The first warning signal shall be made at 0800 hours.
- **4. MEASUREMENTS** PHRF Handicaps shall be those assigned as of the date of the regatta by the DRYA, 23915 Jefferson, Suite #1, St. Clair Shores, MI 48080 (telephone 586-778-1000, e-mail Thedrya@drya.org). For Questions, please email Barb Seski at barbseskidrya@gmail.com. Boats in the PHRF classes are required to display a class flag.
- 5. THE COURSE The course shall be from the Starting Line northeasterly to buoy R "2NC" Fl R 4s at the entrance to the North Channel of the St. Clair River. Buoy R "2NC" shall be left to starboard. All red buoys between buoy R "2NC" and Decker's Landing shall be left to starboard and all green buoys shall be left to port. Proceed up the North Channel to its junction with the South Channel north of Russell Island. The junction buoy GR Fl (2+1) G off the north end of Russell Island shall be left to starboard, then proceed downbound in the South Channel, avoiding the St. Clair Cutoff and reentering Lake St. Clair through the St. Clair Flats Canal, then to the Detroit River and the finishing line. The Peche Island Range Lights are marks of the course and shall be left to port. Boats should give both Peche Island range lights ample room due to unmarked underwater obstructions.

6. COMMUNICATIONS -

- 6.1 The online official notice board is located on yachtscoring.com
- 6.2 Boats shall monitor VHF Channel 16 after starting until after they have retired or finished.
- 6.3 An unofficial designated observer may report all visual signals displayed by the Race Committee over the VHF channel 72. Information so reported is provided as a courtesy to competitors and does not alter the competitors' responsibility to observe the Race Committee's visual signals, which govern the conduct of the racing. Errors or omissions by the observer, or a competitor's failure to hear an observer's report will not be grounds for redress.
- **7. DISCLAIMER OF LIABILITY** Competitors participate in these regattas entirely at their own risk. See RRS 3, Decision to Race. Neither the DRYA nor the sponsoring club will not accept any liability for material damage or personal injury or death sustained in conjunction with or prior to, during, or after any of the scheduled regattas.
- **8. INSURANCE** Each participating boat shall be insured with valid third-party liability insurance with a minimum cover of \$300,000 (U.S.) per incident or equivalent.

For further information, contact the Race Chairman at rjfarrell22@gmail.com



Bayview Yacht Club North Channel Trophy List

One Design Overall Trophies

 $\label{eq:mortilizero} \textbf{Morrill Dunn Trophy} - 1^{st} \text{ Overall for Eligible One Design Classes} \\ \textbf{Richard C Hill Trophy - Second Overall for all Eligible One Design Classes} \\$

Notes for the above One Design Overall Trophies

- In order for a One Design Class to qualify for this trophy, there must be a minimum of 5 yachts starting the race.
 - The PHRF rating system will be utilized to judge the overall winner for the above trophies.





Line Honors Trophies

The Presidents Trophy – 1st Cal 25 to Finish
James Ficus Memorial Trophy – 1st Crescent to Finish
Mackinac Island Trident Trophy – 1st Express 27 to Finish
White-McGregor Trophy – 1st International Etchells to Finish
The ShooFly Trophy – 1st Nonsuch 30 to Finish









PHRF Handicap Trophies

PHRF 1st Overall - C.W. Chick Stodgell Trophy

Note: for the above PHRF Overall Trophy. Yachts sailing in eligible One Design classes are not eligible for the C. W. Chick Stodgell Trophy. It is only available to yachts sailing in non-One Design PHRF only classes.

