

68th Annual Red Grant Regatta

July 12 - 13, 2014

Organized by RARITAN YACHT CLUB, 160 Water St., Perth Amboy, NJ 08861

Benefits We CARE, Perth Amboy, NJ

2 DAY PHRF SPINNAKER & NON-SPINNAKER - PLUS 1 DAY CRUISER RACE

ONE DESIGN CLASSES FORMING FOR: J/105's, J/109's, J/30's, J/80's & J/24's

NOTICE OF RACE

1. RULES The Regatta will be governed by the "rules" as defined in The Racing Rules of Sailing, including US Sailing Association Prescriptions thereto, applicable Class Association Rules,

PHRF-MA rules and regulations including crew limitations.

2. ELIGIBILITY Open to PHRF and various one-design classes. PHRF competitors must have a valid 2014

PHRF-MA certificate; one-design competitors must produce a valid 2014 class measurement certificate on request and be a 2014 class association member. All competitors must adhere to PHRF or OD crew limits and class rules. A minimum of 5 boats is required for a one-design start. Class and PHRF class splits will be posted prior to 0930 hrs on July 12, 2014 on the official notice board on the club deck. Class pennants

must be flown.

2.1 Mayor's Cup (Cruiser Race) participants will be given a 'courtesy' PHRF rating by

through July 2. Entries received after July 2 will incur a \$25 late fee and be accepted

their RC if needed.

3. ENTRIES Eligible boats may enter by completing the official entry process on the Yacht Scoring website (http://www.yachtscoring.com/emenu.cfm?eID=1122) and paying all fees,

through 0930 on July 12, 2014. ONLINE ENTRY IS STRONGLY ENCOURAGED.

4. ENTRY FEE If received by July 2, the entry fees are \$150. Entry fees include sailing, launching, two

tickets to the Saturday night buffet dinner, two hats, one shirt for the Skipper and awards. Additional buffet dinner tickets are available for purchase from Yacht Scoring, the Regatta committee at check-in or from the Galley during dinner service.

the Regatta committee at check-in or from the Galley during dinner service.

ENTRY FEE FOR FIRST TIME COMPETITORS IS \$100 IF RECEIVED BY JULY 2, 2014.

ENTRY FEE FOR BOATS BASED 50 MILES OR MORE AWAY IS \$75 – BEFORE JULY 2.

4.1 MAYOR'S TROPHY RACE ENTRY IS \$50 - \$25 FOR FIRST-TIMERS - NOR'S to follow.

5. SAILING Sailing Instructions will be available online at YachtScoring.com on or before July 11. INSTRUCTIONS Printed sailing instructions will be available at RYC on July 11 & 12 at the regatta desk.

5.1 Notices, including notices that may amend NOR's or SI's will be posted on

yachtscoring.com and on the RG notice board at RYC.

6. SCORING The Low Point Scoring System will apply, except that there will be no throw out unless

five races are completed. One race will constitute a regatta.

7. RACE AREA

Races will be sailed in Raritan Bay. The approximate starting area will be east of Great Beds Light and West of the area between Keyport "1" and Sequine Point, Staten Island, NY.

8. COURSES

PHRF & OD courses will be windward/leeward, or as described in the Sailing Instructions. 8.1 Mayor's Cup/Cruiser Race course will be as determined by race committee.

9. PRIZES

Awards will be given for the top three finishers in each class following racing on Sunday. Perpetual Awards honoring Red Grant, Joe Neiner, Art Zucker and Tony Leitner and Mayor's Cup will also be awarded, see the descriptions on following page.

10. LOGISTICS

The Club's hoist will be available for launching and hauling. A limited number of free guest moorings are available. For mooring reservations contact alanr999@aol.com no later than July 2. First Come, first served.

11. INSURANCE

Each boat shall hold adequate insurance including third-party liability insurance, and it is the owner or owners' representative's sole and inescapable responsibility to ensure that the insurance is in place and is adequate prior to participating in this event.

12. WAIVER OF LIABILITY AND INJURY Competitors participate in the regatta entirely at their own risk. See Rule 4, Decision to Race. Sailing is an activity that has an inherent risk of damage and injury. Competitors participate in the Regatta entirely at their own risk. Raritan Yacht Club, Organizing Authority, Sponsors, Support Facilities, Volunteers, Agents, Employees and Service Providers, the PRO and Committee will not accept any liability for material damage, personal injury, or death sustained in conjunction with or prior to, during, or after the Regatta for both on-the-water and on-land activities. By participating in this event, each competitor (owners, skippers, and crews) agrees to release the race organizers and all persons and groups listed above from any and all liability associated with such competitor's participation in this event to the fullest extent permitted by law.

13. SCHEDULE

Friday, July 11

Daytime - Junior Regatta 1600 – 2000 hrs – PHRF, OD and Cruiser Race on site registration.

Saturday, July 12

0830 - 930 - PHRF & OD Registration

1030 - Harbor Gun - PHRF & OD

1130 – Mayor's Cup (Cruiser Race) Skippers meeting & registration

1130 – PHRF and One-design First Warning Signal

1200 - Mayor's Cup (Cruiser Race) Harbor Gun

1300 - Mayor's Cup (Cruiser Race) Warning Signal

After Sailing – Buffet dinner, Live music featuring JOHNNY & MISSY on the deck at 4pm and KIDS AT PLAY at 7pm, and dancing

Sunday, July 13

1030 - Harbor Gun

1130 – PHRF and One-design First Warning Signal (No warning signal after 1500 hrs)

After Sailing – Evening BBQ on the deck and Regatta Trophy Presentation

14. INFORMATION

For further information, contact:

Paul Zajac – 201-787-9241 <u>pzajac@themistrading.com</u> Al Rothschild – 732-238-6767 <u>alanr999@aol.com</u> Eric Leitner / PRO – 732-259-2541 <u>amboyeric@aol.com</u> Forms and documents are available online on the YachtScoring.com.

Perpetual Trophy List



Adolph "Red" Grant Trophy – Awarded to the overall winner in the most

competitive class. This trophy, awarded annually honors our regatta founder Adolph "Red" Grant. Red was an avid Raritan YC Comet Sailor, who gave his life in defense of our country during the Second World War. *Calculation:* Awarded to the winner of the fleet with the lowest total delta between the final corrected times of the top 3 boats in each fleet of each race.

<u>Joseph W. Neiner Memorial Award</u> -Awarded to best performance in a one design

class. The award honors Past Commodore, Joseph W. Neiner and is being presented for the 35th year.

The Arthur Zucker Memorial Trophy - Awarded to the winner of the largest one

Design Class. The award is presented for the 15th year, honors the regatta's founder, PC Arthur Zucker.

The Tony Leitner Sportsmanship Award - Presented by nomination to the competitor or volunteer that best displays the aspects of sportsmanship over the duration of the regatta.

This trophy, presented for the 14th year, honors PC Anthony "Doc" Leitner who has been involved with Red Grant since its inception.

<u>The Mayor's Cup</u> – Awarded to the top cruising sailor of Saturday's "Cruising for a

Cause" race. This trophy, presented for the 15th year, shares in the community spirit of the Red Grant Regatta. This trophy will be awarded by Perth Amboy's Mayor, Wilda Diaz.